About the Challenge

The Rockefeller Foundation launched the 100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge in 2013 to enable 100 cities to better address the increasing shocks and stresses of the 21st century. Nearly 400 cities across six continents applied to be among the 100 cities selected to receive technical support and resources to improve their urban resilience over three years.

In addition to membership in the newly formed 100 Resilient Cities Network, the selected cities will receive support from the Rockefeller Foundation to create and implement a resilience plan and to hire a Chief Resilience Officer (CRO) to oversee the resilience strategy.

The first class of 32 cities was announced on December 3, 2013, selected by judges with unique expertise on tools and strategies that make a city better prepared to face natural and manmade disaster. Each of the 32 cities is currently in the process of kicking off their challenge engagement—learn more about resilience workshops that have taken place in Jacksonville, New Orleans, and Norfolk.


Dakar (Senegal)
Durban (South Africa)

Central and South America

Medellín (Colombia)
Mexico City (Mexico)
Porto-Alegre (Brazil)
Quito (Ecuador)
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)


Bristol (UK)
Glasgow (UK)
Rome (Italy)
Rotterdam (Netherlands)
Vejle (DK)

Middle East

Ashkelon (Israel)
Byblos (Lebanon)
Ramallah (Palestine)

North America

Berkeley (CA)
Boulder (CO)
El Paso (TX)
Jacksonville (FL)
Los Angeles (CA)
New Orleans (LA)
New York City (NY)
Norfolk (VA)
Oakland (CA)
San Francisco (CA)


Christchurch (New Zealand)
Melbourne (Australia) 

South Asia

Surat (India)

Southeast Asia

Bangkok (Thailand)
Da Nang (Vietnam)
Mandalay (Myanmar)
Semarang (Indonesia)



Challenge applicants may include municipal governments or major institutions (e.g., a nonprofit organization, university, chamber of commerce, or research center) that have a predominant affiliation/association with the city and demonstrate collaborative partnership with a municipal government. Strong preference will be given to municipal government applicants, unless circumstances do not allow for a city to represent itself. All applicants will be required to submit a letter of support from the senior-most representative of their city’s government, whether elected or appointed. Only one application from each city will be eligible for consideration in the challenge. To be eligible for consideration, each applicant must agree to any and all legal terms and conditions of the challenge.

For the purposes of this challenge, a city will be defined by a population with over 50,000 inhabitants with a municipal government, or other elected or appointed chief executive office uniquely assigned to govern that population. Applications representing regional or metropolitan areas are permissible, but one municipal government must serve as the lead organization in the challenge application process.

  • Submit an application form with all required fields completed through the challenge website or by email. Website and email address will be made available to those that have registered and are approved to apply.
  • Be willing to provide material and references in support of their application should they be requested by The Rockefeller Foundation or its partners in operating the 100 Resilient Cities Centennial Challenge.
  • Each winning applicant must commit to developing or implementing a city-wide resilience plan as part of their participation in the 100 Resilient Cities Network.
  • If selected, the applicant must agree to work with The Rockefeller Foundation's partners to establish the suite of financial and technical assistance support to develop and implement the resilience plan, become an integrated member of the 100 Resilient Cities Network, and create or expand the role of a Chief Resilience Officer within the municipal government. All selected cities receiving grant money must use the financial resources in accordance with the suite of support determined in conjunction with The Rockefeller Foundation’s partners and must collaborate to play an active role in the network.
  • If the applicant’s application is selected, the awardee must agree to comply with the terms and conditions imposed as part of the challenge as well as all applicable laws.
  • Applicants must be available for contact by email or telephone at any point in the evaluation process, and available (if requested) for a site visit by The Rockefeller Foundation’s partners
  • Submit the application in English, Portuguese, French or Spanish.
  • Complete the eligibility registration by September 23, 2013, by 23:59:59 GMT.
  • Complete the application form and submit or send it before the deadline of October 14, 2013, by 23:59:59 GMT.

Please submit all inquiries via email to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) and we will promptly respond. Please be advised that telephone calls will not be returned due to high volume of inquiries.